Lou Reed – My Red Joystick (1984)

By 1984, the 12″ single was a necessity for just about any artist releasing a new single and subsequently a number of artists who would never have been thought of as dancefloor friendly were releasing dance mixes.

Lou Reed released his “New Sensations” album in 1984 and scored an unexpected critical success, the new upbeat and fun Lou would release the singles “I Love You, Suzanne” and “My Red Joystick” from the album, with “My Red Joystick” being remixed by Francois Kevorkian for release in Europe and in the US on a promotional 12″ only.

The post comes from the US RCA Promo 12″.

***New Rip Posted 19 May 2014, Record cleaned with Okki Nokki RCM and stylus upgraded with Ortofon OM2 Blue***

***Full 12″ Now Added***

My Red Joystick (Remixed Version)              5:05

My Red Joystick (Instrumental Version)         5:25

I Love You, Suzanne                                    3:15

Listen !

9 comments on “Lou Reed – My Red Joystick (1984)

  1. It turns out that the instrumental b side is now the only thing I have on vinyl but not in digital form. Do you have the means to upload it?

  2. Thank you for this. Didn’t know there was a 12″ version. I Love You Suzanne is a bonus. Would love to see some of the old posts re-ripped when you get a chance. Thanks for these rare 12″ in digital form. Maybe one day we could see them in flac. I have a heap of 12″ that I have tried to rip myself but they sound terrible. Thanks again. Jason from Oz.

Leave a Reply

