Ryuichi Sakamoto ‎– Risky (1987)

Ryuichi Sakamoto (born January 17, 1952) is a Japanese musician, activist, composer, record producer, writer, singer, pianist, and actor, based in Tokyo and New York. He began his career in 1978 as a member of the pioneering electronic music group Yellow Magic Orchestra (YMO),where he played keyboards and was an occasional vocalist. The band was an international success, with worldwide hits such as “Computer Game / Firecracker” (1978) and “Behind the Mask” (1978),the latter written and sung by Sakamoto. He concurrently began pursuing a solo career, debuting with the experimental electronic fusion album The Thousand Knives of Ryūichi Sakamoto (1978), and later released the pioneering album B-2 Unit (1980), which included the electro classic “Riot in Lagos”. After YMO disbanded in 1983, he produced more solo records, including collaborations with various international artists, through to the 1990s.

In 1987,  Sakamoto released the album “Neo Geo”, it included contributions by Bill Laswell, Bootsy Collins, Sly Dunbar and vocals by Iggy Pop on the single “Risky”.

The US Promo 12″ of “Risky” included the Julian Mendelsohn remix and the Ultimix Edit.

Risky (Ultimix Edit)                        7:29

Risky (Remix)                               6:55


Listen !

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s