Figures On A Beach ‎– No Stars (1987)

Figures on a Beach was formed in Detroit, Michigan, in the early 1980s from the ashes of the band Razor 1922. The group was composed of vocalist Anthony Kaczynski; guitarist John “Rik” Rolski; keyboardist Christopher Ewen; bassist Perry Tell; and drummer, multimedia designer, animator, and illustrator Michael “Smitty” Smith. The group recorded an independent EP, Swimming, in 1983, and the Don Was-produced single “Breathless” in 1984.

Figures moved to Boston in 1985 and was signed by Seymour Stein of Sire Records soon afterward. Figures released its first full-length album in 1987, titled Standing on Ceremony.

The band’s first single released on the Sire label was “No Stars”, produced by Ivan Ivan.

Allmusic described the track as “a swelling, romantic tune with a memorable melody and gossamer production.”

The 12″ single was remixed by Ivan Ivan and Steve Peck and the Club Remix was edited by Junior Vasquez.

No Stars (Club Remix)                    8:35

No Stars (Dub Version)                   4:52

No Stars (Remix)                            6:36

Eternal Repetition                           3:26


Listen !


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s