Then Jerico ‎– Prairie Rose (1987)

Then Jerico was formed by Mark Shaw at the age of 21, recruiting bassist Jasper Stainthorpe and drummer Steve Wren and poaching guitarist Scott Taylor from Belouis Some.

The band played at The Limelight Club in NYC in 1983 and signed to London Records in 1984. The single “The Big Sweep” was recorded for London but they objected to the lyrical subject matter (an anti-Robert Maxwell/Rupert Murdoch statement). It was initially released by the track’s producer Martin Rushent on his own Immaculate label in 1985 and then, subsequently, as a limited edition by London Records along with the new song, “Fault”, both of which attracted attention in the clubs.

A handful of subsequent singles and a growing live following continued to raise Then Jerico’s profile and the band’s first real chart success came in early 1987 with the song “Muscle Deep” which was followed by a cover of Roxy Music’s “Prairie Rose”.

Prairie Rose (12″)                                        6:24

Prairie Rose (Original Version)                      5:05

Electric                                                      2:27

One Life                                                     4:18

Fault                                                          3:43


Listen !


One comment on “Then Jerico ‎– Prairie Rose (1987)

  1. one of the greatest bands that never made their full potential, and a brilliant version of this song, thanks for the chance to hear it again

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s