Shalamar ‎– I Want You (To Be My Playthang) (1988)

Shalamar is an American music group, primarily active in the 1970s and 1980s, that was originally a disco-driven vehicle created by Soul Train booking agent Dick Griffey and show creator Don Cornelius.They went on to be an influential dance trio, masterminded by Soul Train producer Don Cornelius.As noted in the British Hit Singles & Albums, they were regarded as fashion icons and trendsetters, and helped to introduce ‘body-popping’ to the United Kingdom.Their collective name ‘Shalamar’ was picked by Griffey.

In 1987 Shalamar released their ninth album, titled Circumstantial Evidence, the album was produced by L.A. Reid & Babyface, Jerry Peters, and Bernadette Cooper. Released on the SOLAR label. The line-up on this album is Delisa Davis, Micki Free and Sidney Justin, the latter having replaced Howard Hewett, who had left the group in 1986 to pursue a solo career.

Circumstantial Evidence peaked at #29 on the R&B chart but failed to register on the Billboard chart.

The single “I Want You (To Be My Playthang)” was produced and remixed by L.A.Reid & Babyface.

I Want You (To Be My Playthang) (Thanga-Ma-Jig Extended Dance Mix)                6:32

I Want You (To Be My Playthang) (The Playground Mix)                                       4:00

I Want You (To Be My Playthang) (Thanga-Ma-Jig Part 2 Dub Mix)                        4:11

I Want You (To Be My Playthang) (The Play-A-Round Acappella Mix)                    3:59

I Want You (To Be My Playthang) (The Extra Mental Instrumental Mix)                  4:10

R-208832-1331925532

Listen !

6 comments on “Shalamar ‎– I Want You (To Be My Playthang) (1988)

  1. I’m having issues getting anything to work when I get to the rapidshare page. Is there something I’m missing? Do I have to download the rapidshare downloader? BTW, welcome back!

  2. I had to go through this myself to be sure it was actually working but try the following, click on the Listen link as usual, it should take you to a Rapidshare splash page and there should be a white square with “to Download’ in it, click on this and it should take you to the download page for the music, in the bottom left hand corner is a square with “Download” on it, click on this and you should be good to go !

  3. Thanks. I’ve done that in the past…nothing happens. It’s got to be an issue on my end, although this is the only fileshare program that is giving me issues at the moment. I’ll figure it out and catch-up down the road.

Leave a Reply

