Guy ‎– I Like (1989)

Guy was formed in Harlem, New York in 1987 by R&B singer-songwriters Teddy Riley, Aaron Hall, and Timmy Gatling. Riley and Gatling were childhood friends growing up in Harlem, and previously collaborated in the band Kids At Work.Hall was recruited to join what would become Guy.As well as writing songs for their own group, Riley and Hall collaborated on other songwriting and production projects, including Bobby Brown’s “My Prerogative” and Johnny Kemp’s “Just Got Paid”.

Under the guidance of manager Gene Griffin, the group signed to Andre Harrell’s Uptown Records, and released their self-titled debut album Guy in June 1988. Gatling, however, had left after recording of the album was completed and he was replaced by Hall’s younger brother Damion Hall for the tour (with New Edition).

“I Like” was the fourth single released from Guy’s debut album in 1989. The song peaked at number seventy on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

The US Promo 12″ of “I Like” included 6 mixes by Teddy Riley & Gene Griffin.

I Like (Extended Version)                      8:17

I Like (Acappella)                                 4:02

I Like (Radio Edit)                                5:40

I Like (Instrumental)                              4:55

I Like (Hype Mix)                                  4:50

I Like (Dub Version)                              4:45

R-1056571-1286654919

Listen !

By eightiesvinyl Posted in Guy

2 comments on “Guy ‎– I Like (1989)

Leave a Reply

