Elvis Costello & The Attractions ‎– Everyday I Write The Book (1983)

“Everyday I Write the Book” is a song written by Elvis Costello, from Punch the Clock, an album released in 1983 by Elvis Costello and the Attractions. It peaked at 28 on the UK Singles Chart and was their first hit single in the US (33 on the Billboard Top 40).

In an interview from November 1998, Costello said “Everyday I Write the Book” was “a song I wrote in ten minutes almost as a challenge to myself. I thought, maybe I could write just a simple, almost formula song and make it mean something. I was quite happy with it and I tried to do it in a kind of lovers-rock type arrangement and I wasn’t happy with it and then ended up putting this other kind of rhythm to the song, which was written originally as a kind of Merseybeat knock off…I invested less emotionally in it than any other songs from that time yet it’s the one that everyone warmed to.”

For the US 12″ single release, “Everyday I Write The Book” was remixed by John “Jellybean” Benitez with John “Tokes” Potoker as Engineer.

Everyday I Write The Book (Club Version)                    5:04

Everyday I Write The Book (Instrumental)                    3:40

Heathen Town                                                           3:08

Night Time                                                                2:52

R-173388-1194849498

Listen !

One comment on “Elvis Costello & The Attractions ‎– Everyday I Write The Book (1983)

Leave a Reply

