Fine Young Cannibals ‎– I’m Not The Man I Used To Be (1989)

Fine Young Cannibals were a British band formed in Birmingham, England in 1984, by bassist David Steele, guitarist Andy Cox (both formerly of The Beat), and singer Roland Gift (formerly of the Akrylykz). Their self-titled 1985 debut album contained “Johnny Come Home” and a cover of “Suspicious Minds”, two songs that were top 40 hits in the UK, Canada, Australia and many European countries. Their 1989 album, The Raw & the Cooked, topped the UK and US Album charts, and contained their two Billboard Hot 100 number ones: “She Drives Me Crazy” and “Good Thing”.

“I’m Not the Man I Used to Be” was the fourth single from the album The Raw & the Cooked. The song entered the UK Singles Chart in November 1989 and spent eight weeks on the chart, peaking at number 20. The song also peaked at number 29 in Austria and the Netherlands, number 35 in Canada, and number 54 in the United States. Dave Thompson of Allmusic praised Gift for “[h]is introspective lyrics and almost wistful performance”.  The song was featured in a 2009 episode of the American television series Nip/Tuck on FX.

The UK Promo 12″ featured the “Solo Piano Intro” remixed by Norman Cook which segues into the “12” Remix” by Jazzie B & Nellee Hooper, the “Mellow Mix” by Smith & Mighty as well as exclusive mixes by Dancin’ Danny D and Matt Dike which did not make the recent deluxe re-release of “The Raw And The Cooked”.

I’m Not The Man I Used To Be (Solo Piano Intro/12″ Remix)                  6:41

I’m Not The Man I Used To Be (Mellow Mix)                                         4:46

I’m Not The Man I Used To Be (Dancin’ Danny D Mix)                           7:25

I’m Not The Man I Used To Be (Matt Dike Mix)                                     5:05

R-513879-1225380307.jpeg

Listen !

4 comments on “Fine Young Cannibals ‎– I’m Not The Man I Used To Be (1989)

  1. Would love to give this a listen, but that Mega host site is the most temperamental POS I’ve ever had the misfortune to come across. So frustrating when it recommends I use the Firefox browser when I AM using it already!!

Leave a Reply

