Michael Jeffries With Karyn White ‎– Not Thru Being With You (1989)

Michael Jeffries is a rhythm and blues singer from Memphis, Tennessee, best known for his stint as a lead vocalist for the R&B/Soul band Tower of Power from 1978 to the Mid-1980s.

Jeffries got his start as a part of the California band, The Two Things In One,and scored a regional hit with the 1973 single “Together Forever”. It would lead to his stint with Tower of Power starting with 1978’s We Came to Play! and he would stay with the band through the Mid-1980s, making his stint with TOP the second longest stint as lead vocalist, only behind current lead vocalist Larry Braggs.

Jeffries would go solo with the single “Razzle Dazzle” from the soundtrack to the movie Wildcats. He would also record with Jeff Lorber and fellow R&B singer Karyn White before releasing his first self-titled solo album for Warner Bros. Records; ironically enough, the same label his old band Tower of Power once called home. The album was produced by Janet Jackson’s producers and former members of The Time Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis.

Not Thru Being With You (Club Fire Mix)                                    8:52

Not Thru Being With You (Radio Fire Mix)                                  5:11

Not Thru Being With You (Extended Version)                             5:18


Listen !