Ryuichi Sakamoto ‎– Risky (1987)

Ryuichi Sakamoto (born January 17, 1952) is a Japanese musician, activist, composer, record producer, writer, singer, pianist, and actor, based in Tokyo and New York. He began his career in 1978 as a member of the pioneering electronic music group Yellow Magic Orchestra (YMO),where he played keyboards and was an occasional vocalist. The band was an international success, with worldwide hits such as “Computer Game / Firecracker” (1978) and “Behind the Mask” (1978),the latter written and sung by Sakamoto. He concurrently began pursuing a solo career, debuting with the experimental electronic fusion album The Thousand Knives of Ryūichi Sakamoto (1978), and later released the pioneering album B-2 Unit (1980), which included the electro classic “Riot in Lagos”. After YMO disbanded in 1983, he produced more solo records, including collaborations with various international artists, through to the 1990s.

In 1987,  Sakamoto released the album “Neo Geo”, it included contributions by Bill Laswell, Bootsy Collins, Sly Dunbar and vocals by Iggy Pop on the single “Risky”.

The US Promo 12″ of “Risky” included the Julian Mendelsohn remix and the Ultimix Edit.

Risky (Ultimix Edit)                        7:29

Risky (Remix)                               6:55


Listen !