Hot Chocolate ‎– Every 1’s A Winner (Extended Groove Mix) (1987)

Hot Chocolate are a British funk band popular during the 1970s and 1980s, formed by Errol Brown. The act had at least one hit every year between 1970 and 1984 inclusive, and their song “You Sexy Thing” made the Top 10 in three decades.

It was in the disco era of the mid-1970s that Hot Chocolate became a big success. A combination of high production standards, the growing confidence of the main songwriting team of Wilson and Brown, and tight harmonies enabled them to secure further big hits such as “You Sexy Thing” and “Every 1’s a Winner”, which were also U.S. hits, peaking at #3 (1976) and #6 (1979), respectively. “Every 1’s a Winner” featured a distinctive distorted guitar riff by Harvey Hinsley using a Roland GR-500. After Wilson’s departure for a solo career, that included a 1976 album I Like Your Style, Brown assumed songwriting duties.

In the wake of a successful remix of “You Sexy Thing” in 1987 by Ben Liebrand, another of Hot Chocolate’s biggest hits was given the Liebrand remix treatment. Although “You Sexy Thing” managed to go to #10 on the UK charts, “Every 1’s a Winner” would only rise to #69.

Every 1’s A Winner (Extended Groove Mix)                    6:40

Every 1’s A Winner (Groove Mix Bonus Beats)               3:05

Every 1’s A Winner (7″ Groove Mix)                               3:54

So You Win Again                                                       4:29